Sunday afternoon ~Tea & Flowers~

How is your Sunday going?
I just had a very pleasant afternoon, although I was completely on my own I’ve just discovered a gorgeous tea house very close to my house. It’s a very ancient house, with traditions that were born in the Tudors time:

Olá! Como vai esse Domingo?
Eu tive uma tarde muito agradavel (embora estivese por minha conta). Descobri uma casa de chá fantastica mesmo perto da minha casa. É uma casa muito antiga com tradições que remotam do tempo dos Tudors (perfeito!)
It all started with the dainty Maid of Honour cakes after which we are named. It is believed that Henry VIII, King of England from 1509-1547, came across Anne Boleyn and her Maids of Honour (the young ladies who attended the Queen), eating the cakes from a silver dish. Tasting one for himself, the King was so delighted by its ‘melt-in-the-mouth’ sensation that he confiscated the recipe and demanded it be kept secret in a locked iron box at Richmond Palace.





Isn’t this place beautiful? I was very lucky because when I arrived the room was empty, 5m later it was crowded! Next time I have to book a table.

Their speciality are the teas and the home made pastries, like the Maid of Honour one. It might not seem to be the case, but this is really delicious! I’m sorry I didn’t photograph mine, because I even thought about it, it was already gone.

Digam lá que este sitio não e lindo? Tive imensa sorte porque quando cheguei a sala ainda estava vazia, 5 minutos mais tarde e já estava cheia! Da próxima vez vou ter de reservar uma mesa.

A especialidade deles sao os chás e os bolos de fabrico próprio, principalmente o Maids of Honour. Pode nao parecer muito pela imagem, mas é uma verdadeira delicia (aii as calorias felizes. Nem tirei foto ao meu porque quando pensei no assunto já o tinha comido.


After this delicious discovery, and since the sun was finally shining outside, I went to visit Kew Gardens. And it was much bigger than I expected! I have to say I’m quite exhausted, but it was a pleasant walk 🙂





I will have to visit this place again, as many places will only open in April like the water lilly garden.

Depois desta deliciosa descoberta, e uma vez que o sol comecou a brilhar la fora, fui visitar os Kew Gardens. E devo dizer que é muito maior do que esperava, estou exausta! Mas foi uma excelente caminhada 🙂

Tenho mesmo de visitar este sitio de novo, até porque muitos cantinhos só vão abrir em Abril como o jardim de water lillys (nao sei qual e a tradução para isto :O)

And now I have to hurry as I’m on his computer to edit the photos and Benfica will play today, so as soon as he arrives I will have to empty the place. Enjoy your Sunday and have a nice week.

E agora tenho de me despachar porque estou no computador dele a editar as fotos e o Benfica joga daqui a pouco, ou seja assim que ele chegar sou corrida do pc.
Votos de um bom domingo e de uma boa semana.


9 thoughts on “Sunday afternoon ~Tea & Flowers~

  1. Obrigada! 🙂 Olha a "dose" foi de muito boa disposição, muitas conversas, sorrisos e pensamentos. Gostei mesmo! :)Beijinho e boa semana!

  2. Sim eu fiquei fa, vou la voltar mais vezes. Via muitas vezes da rua este sitio quando passava de autocarro, ate que decidi la entrar. E pelos vistos eles vao lancar um servico de entregas ao dominicio com um carro daqueles a antiga. E depois ainda tenho muito bolo para experimentar :DJa descobriram algum sitio em Portugal assim?

  3. Pingback: .: Newbury & English pies :. | MissLilly's Journeys

  4. Pingback: .: An afternoon with English tea :. | MissLilly's Journeys

  5. Pingback: .: An afternoon @ Kew Gardens :. | MissLilly's Journeys

Leave a Reply

