What do you dream doing when you grow up | O que queres ser quando fores grande

Hello!!!

First of all tomorrow it’s Friday and it’s a beautiful sunny day here in UK (I’m so happy!!!), plus he’s returning back home tomorrow. Did I say I miss him so much?
Today it was an exhaustive day at the office, but it was so nice to have the team all together (1 UK, 1 Germany, 1 Spanish and me 🙂 )
Anyway, I was thinking about what I used to dream about when I was a kid… I remember wanting to be a lawyer to defend those who couldn’t defend themselves (oh yeah, quite a dream consider what’s the truth back in Portugal). Then when I grew up I didn’t know, and I guess I still don’t. I envy those people who really know what they wanna do. With so many options how do I know without trying????

What I did so far?
* Human Resources Trainee – It was really cool actually, I helped on the administrative stuff and I was helping in other programs too such as implementing the performance review and create a common sharepoint for everybody. I’ve realised it was quite the place where everyone would go just to speak out about the troubles during the week, quite emotional sometimes.
* Relationship management – It was very short, but it was so nice!!! We went to small / medium companies to know what they were doing and how we could create a partnership together. Also I had to manage all the contacts and organize some big events within the software department. It was very nice too. Then I decided that I needed a challenge, as I was about to leave university and I wanted to grow faster. 
* Consulting – This is where I still am. I have to say I had to grow so much, it’s very challenging and fast moving. Because we work based in projects we never get bored and normally we always have tied deadlines to meet. I enjoy what I do, but sometimes it’s frustrating because I lose the control over my own personal life. It’s very easy to become a workahoolic in this area, I almost did! Working more than 12h daily and on weekends too. It’s important never forget what our priorities are. For those who have been following me, they will know that I have been struggling with this: “Work for living or living for work”.

So the thing is, if I had more control over my life what would I do?

I believe I could continue to work where I am, but with much more personal time, so probably something part time. 
I would like to travel (for leisure purposes!!!) and take plenty of photos, meet new people and write. I see myself living in a beautiful countryside with coast included and dedicate myself to writing, photographing or even teaching new people in my consulting world. It’s quite dreamy I have to admit, as I’m no good at writing or photographing either, not to making a living out of that. But I wish I could do it.
What would see yourself doing (if you could?)

Antes de mais amanha e sexta e esta um bonito dia de sol aqui no UK (estou tao contente), alem de que ele amanha regressa a casa. Ja disse que tenho imensas saudades?
Hoje foi um dia super cansativo no escritorio, mas foi fixe ter a equipa toda junta (1 ingles, 1 alemao, 1 espanhola e eu)
De qualquer forma, estava a pensar no que customava sonhar que queria ser quando era pequena… lembro-me de querer ser advogada porque queria defender aqueles que nao se podiam defender a eles proprios (oh yeah, deveras utopico tendo em conta a nossa justica em Portugal). Depois cresci e deixei de saber o que queria ser, alias eu acho que ainda nao sei. Por acaso invejo aquelas pessoas que tem mesmo a certeza do que querem ser. Mas com tantas opcoes como e que eu sei o que quero sem experimentar???

O que ja fiz ate agora:
* Estagio de recursos humanos – Foi muito fixe, ajudei na parte administrativa e fiz parte de outros programas como a implementacao da avaliacao de desempenho e criar um sharepoint onde cada uma das equipas podia partilhar coisas na internet. Apercebi-me tambem de que o nosso departamento acabava por ser quase como um confessionario onde as pessoas iam desabafar as frustacoes do dia-a-dia, devas emocional!
* Gestao de parcerias – Foi uma experiencia curta mas muito fixe!! Iamos as pequenas e medias empresas saber o que as empresas faziam e como e que a parceria poderia funcionar. Tinha de fazer gestao de contactos e organizar alguns eventos para o departamento de software. Foi muito fixe tambem. Mas depois decidi que, e como estava quase a acabar a universidade (finalmente!!!) que queria crescer mais depressa.
* Consultoria – O que ainda faco actualmente. Tenho de reconhecer que me fez crescer muito por ser tao desafiante e dinamico. Porque trabalhamos com base em projectos nunca estamos entediados, especialmente no que toca a deadlines as vezes um bocado irrialistas. E sempre tudo pra ontem!!! Eu gosto do que faco (se nao gostasse nao tinha problema em deixar de fazer), mas as vezes e frustante porque parece que deixamos de ter controlo sobre a nossa vida pessoal. Alem de que e muito facil tornarmo-nos workahoolics, eu estive la perto! Trabalhar mais de 12h e aos fins de semana tambem. E importante nunca esquecer quais sao as nossas prioridades. Para quem leu os meus posts antigos (alguem ai???) sabe que tenho tido bastante desafio com o “viver para trabalhar ou trabalhar para viver”.

Portanto a questao e, se pudesse escolher o que fazia?

Acho que continuava a trabalhar onde estou, mas com mais tempo para mim, portanto qualquer coisa a part time.
Gostava de viajar (mas para efeitos de lazer!!), tirar montes de fotos, conhecer pessoas novas e escrever. Vejo-me a viver no campo mas com costa ao pe e dedicar-me a escrita e a fotografia ou ate continuar a formar pessoas na minha area em consultoria. E mesmo um sonho porque nao sou muito boa nem em escrita nem em fotografia, nao para conseguir fazer disso vida. Mas se pudesse era isso que fazia. 

E voces, o que gostavam mesmo mesmo de fazer?     


Leave a Reply

