National Geographic winners

“To take a photograph is to align the head, the eye and the heart. It’s a way of life.”  (Henri Cartier-Bresson)

As any fan of photography, I’ve always surrendered to the quality photos from the national geographic magazines. And I have to say I love this year’s winners!

Nature


Photo and caption by Ashley Vincent
The subject’s name is Busaba, a well cared for Indochinese Tigress whose home is at Khao Kheow Open Zoo, Thailand. I had taken many portraits of Busaba previously and it was becoming more and more difficult to come up with an image that appeared any different to the others. Which is why I took to observing her more carefully during my visits in the hope of capturing something of a behavioural shot. The opportunity finally presented itself while watching Busaba enjoying her private pool then shaking herself dry. In all humility I have to say that Mother Nature smiled favourably on me that day!
Photo Location
Khao Kheow Open Zoo, Chonburi, Thailand
Honorable Mention (I find this one really funny!)

Photo and caption by Micheal Eastman
People
Viewer’s choice (and my choice too!)


Photo and caption by Kai-Otto Melau

Thank you to “Look Closer blog” for letting me know the results were out.


Leave a Reply

