2013 in review

Hello!

Ok, so I promised I’d make a small contribution to Lilly’s blog and here it is! I don’t post often because I want it to be special every time I do it! ;D

As you probably would guess, this is a music related post!

2013 is almost over so why not show you my top15 of the year?! I tried to make a top10, but I just couldn’t leave out some of the albums. It was a great year for music, no doubt.

So without any further ado, my top15 (I’ll focus on studio albums here)! It’s always very hard for me to do this so I’ll present the list without any specific order:

The Aristocrats – Culture Clash

Beth Hart & Joe Bonamassa – Seesaw

Black Sabbath – 13

The Dillinger Escape Plan – One of Us is the Killer

Dream Theater – Dream Theater

Exivious – Liminal

Fates Warning – Darkness in a Different Light

The Flower Kings – Desolation Rose

Gorguts – Colored Sands

Intronaut – Habitual Levitations (Instilling Words With Tones)

October Tide – Tunnel of No Light

Protest the Hero – Volition

Riverside – Shrine of New Generation Slaves

Steven Wilson – The Raven That Refused to Sing (and Other Stories)

The Winery Dogs – The Winery Dogs

And I won’t finish here! I also think that 2013 was a great year for instrumental (some of them made it to my top15) and live releases, so here’s a small list focusing on that:

Instrumental releases:

The Aristocrats – Culture Clash

Camel – The Snow Goose (this one is a rerecording of the classic 1975 album)

Evan Brewer – Your Itinerary

Exivious – Liminal

Henry Fool – Men Singing

Levin Minnemann Rudess – Levin Minnemann Rudess

Psicomagia – Psicomagia

Rock Candy Funk Party – We Want Groove

Virgil Donati – In This Life

VOLTO! – Incitare

Live releases:

Anathema – Universal

Black Sabbath – Live… Gathered in Their Masses

Devin Townsend – The Retinal Circus

Dream Theater – Live at Luna Park

Flying Colors – Live in Europe

The Jimi Hendrix Experience – Miami Pop Festival

Joe Bonamassa – An Acoustic Evening at the Vienna Opera House

Mastodon – Live at Brixton

Muse – Live at Rome Olympic Stadium

Portnoy, Sheehan, MacAlpine, Sherinian – Live in Tokyo

Rush – Clockwork Angels Tour

So here it is! Hope you like it.

Please note that there are still some albums I have to listen to, so maybe I’ll talk about those in the near future, or even about some of them that weren’t mentioned here but are definitely worth mentioning!

🙂

Leave a Reply

