Cooking with: Barley

Since I’ve been trying to eat more healthy I’ve also been trying to discover  alternatives to my beloved pasta. I love couscous and I’m using really often.

Nutrition facts (from wikipedia)

Total fat 0.25 g 0%
   Saturated fat 0.05 g 0%
   Trans fat 0 g
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Sodium 8 mg 0%
Potassium 91 mg 3%
Total carbohydrate 36 g 12%
   Dietary fiber 2 g 1%
   Sugars 0 g
Protein 6 g
Vitamin A 0%      Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 1%      Iron 2%

Plus it cooks really fast.

Then there’s quinoa, which is quite popular at the moment. I’ve recently discovered Pearl Barley – Barley is actually used in the production of some beers.

Per 100g Per serving % based on GDA for adult
Energy 553kJ 443kJ
131kcal 104kcal 5.2%
Protein 2.7g 2.2g 4.9%
Carbohydrate 27.6g 22.1g 9.6%
Total Sugars 1.0g 0.8g 0.9%
Starch 26.6g 21.3g
Fat 0.6g 0.5g 0.7%
Saturates 0.2g 0.2g 1.0%
Fibre 2.0g 1.6g 6.7%
Salt trace trace
Sodium trace trace

The only cons is that it takes around 50m to cook! So perfect for weekend-cooking. I’ve added 100g of pear barley + 550ml of water and half a lemon. It was really delicious. I’ve added grilled turkey with lime & herbs and I have to say I felt perfect. Actually pearl Barley is quite commonly used to prepare risotto’s, what about that?

Pearl Barley Rissotto (for the recipe visit the Hearty Food blog)

Leave a Reply

