.: Exploring Richmond with a 50mm :.

As my landlord is trying to sell the house, we had 3 visits in a row this Saturday, which meant that we had to be away from home for at least 1h30. It was pretty cloudy and not inviting at all, but I decided to go for a quick walk in Richmond and use my 50mm lens.

I like to use my 50mm for many reasons, the first is that it’s my smallest lens, so it’s very light to carry and also because it forces me to think more about composition. I can’t simply zoom in and out as I’m talking about a prime lens here, so I need to use my body and move around to create the photo I want. I like that. It makes you get out of your comfort zone. It’s also a very good lens for portrait photography, which I don’t do that often.

It was really windy this weekend, so forget about getting any flowers sharp!!!

Because the 50mm allows for really small apertures (f1.8), it’s also great to capture detail and blur the background or create lovely bokeh effects without any effort.

My first time trying to leave colour in only 1 object. One day I’ll be able to do a proper one, like the classical phone cabinet! It looks a bit rubish, but I’m happy with it as a first try

He keeps on using me as his own personal monopod, so as a “revenge” I decided to use his head for a photo as well ahhahahah

Considering I took this photo from the car (with the car moving) I’m quite happy with the light

And finally a selfie

Do you have any lens preference?

2 thoughts on “.: Exploring Richmond with a 50mm :.

Leave a Reply

