.: Dress with less :.

Recently there’s been quite a trend of de-clutter or simply owning less. I guess if space becomes so expensive the more the need to rationalise what we have. Having just moved houses and being forced to pack all I have in boxes, we’ve realized we have quite a lot more than I imaged. How many things do you have in your wardrobe that you don’t even remember you have at all?

I’ve packed a few things and used the container downstairs which is used to donate clothing (in good conditions) to people that may need it. If I analyse what I have I’m sure I can find  more things that I don’t really need.

On this lines, I was just reading about Project 33. As the name says it means owning a total of 33 pieces (including accessories). Not sure if I can really come down to 33, not when you are supposed to dress professionally all the time and every day you are expected to come to the office with a different outfit (even if you use the same pieces to create a different look). The expectations on women are quite demanding! Whereas my male-friends can go away with changing the shirt and having the same suit the whole week, not valid for us. But still it feels I have more than I need.

They have a lighter version which is choosing 33 pieces for the next 3 months (e.g. spring season), that seems more realistic. I may try that, but surely will try to think twice before buying anything extra. I tend to have a lot of underwear, e.g. white t-shirts which I use to save my shirts.

My Tips

Well, I’m not sure I’m a good example here, but here’s something I’ve started to do last year:

Need some inspiration?

Tim Gunn’s 10 key items may help you:

My List

1 – Little Black Dress

2 – Statement Necklace

3 – Day Dress

4 – Working trousers

5 – Sleeveless shirt

6 – Jacket

7 – Jumper

8 – Jeans (I have the same pair of jeans for the last 4 years!) and I have some jean-leggings as well

9 – Boots

10 – Flats – I have these flats for more than 3 years now, they are really comfortable!

11 – Leather bag – I have this bag for almost 4 years now, and I use it on a daily basis and it’s still impec! It’s a good idea to invest in a good bag, and by that I mean quality rather than brand. Mine still smells like leather!

Final tips:

  • Think about your existing colour pallet, if you go for soft tones: beige, white, light grey and then black they will always be trendy. You can then have 1 or 2 pieces in the colour of your choice to acessorise your wardrobe.
  • Save to a list before buying
  • Think about the items you love the most and why you love them and those you barely use.
  • Don’t fear to give away!

In a few months time I may show where I’ve got to 🙂 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

