.: Happy Mother’s day with Apple Cake :.

Happy mother’s day! (for all Moms in Portugal)

For the first time since I remember the national workers day (1st of May) is also Mother’s day in Portugal. Since being a mom is quite hard-working (I still don’t have an idea how much this is true but will know that shortly) I would say it makes a lot of sense.

1st of May was always quite a tradition back home, it’s a day where we would always go and do a picnic somewhere nice. My grandma would cook delicious cakes for the day, being the traditional “May’s cake” always on the table (this is a corn’s cake)

(For the portuguese recipe check here.)

As I always found this particular cake a bit too strong, my grandma would always bake the orange roll which I truly love

(For the portuguese recipe check here – video included)

I really have good memories of this particular day. Me and my sister would play in the fields and then enjoy lots of our favourite cakes. Here in UK, it’s a long weekend and the sun in finally shining outside. So I went out for a brunch with friends and back at home I couldn’t resist the temptation of baking something.

As I have lots of apples available, decided to do an Apple Cake (recipe from Gennaro Contaldo’s Nonna’s Apple Cake from his Let’s cook italian book). I really love his recipes and his simple style of cooking.

Expectation vs reality

13083132_10207277567952266_3007779984633068762_n

The recipe advises for 40m baking, but I believe next time I’ll do just 35 to get it more moist. I had my cake with a bit of ice cream

13124917_10207277836878989_9010940844144752148_n

It’s actually a very easy cake to prepare and it’s not too sweet. Also, the recipe doesn’t mention it, but please add cinnamon. Apple & cinnamon is the best combo ever! I’ve added on mine and could really taste it.

What is your favourite cake? Any cake that really brings you good memories?

Have a lovely week 🙂

4 thoughts on “.: Happy Mother’s day with Apple Cake :.

Leave a Reply

